Liberated Woman

6 Jun

I am a liberated woman,

I chose it,

It did not choose me,

Nobody forced it,

But Allah did will it,

It’s not a prison,

I am no caged bird,

Please dismiss the rumors you may have heard,

I have every color of the rainbow,

Does this sound like a woman someone forced to lay low?

It brings me closer to HE,

I was blind but now I dare to BE,

You see,

I used to hike my hems, 

Rock the fitted tee’s with the timbs,

Displaying what should be reserved,

For nothing but worthless perv’s,

It was a commandment,

I willfully obeyed,

My only regret was in having delayed,

This symbol says I am a queen,

I demand your respect,

This symbol says,

I will not settle for less,

So save your liberation theology,

There are no shackles in sight,

I don’t need your bikini’s,

Because my modesty is my right,

My life?

No tragedy, I am truly happy,

Allah said hijab for the inner & outer,

The wisdom of those words,

Do not make me sour,

Save your sorry, 

Please don’t waste it on me,

I chose it,

It did not choose me,

I am Liberated Woman,

Undeniably.

~Keziah 'Black Muslimah'

Read more about Keziah here
6 Responses to “Liberated Woman”

  1. onelittlepixie June 6, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    I love this!

    • Black Muslimah June 7, 2011 at 4:49 am #

      Thank you for reading!

  2. Alreda Jackson June 6, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    My precious Kizz. That poem you wrote was beautiful. I am so proud of you. You were never one to be a follower but a leader. I pray that something in my life has encouraged and inspired you. If I have then my living will not be in vain. Is this poem copywritten? Call me. Love you, Aunt Freda

    • Black Muslimah June 7, 2011 at 4:50 am #

      Aunt Freda you are too kind, thank you for reading! ❤ I need to come for a visit this week. We need to chat!

  3. Sheila.N June 11, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    Masha’Allah Sis This Is Beautiful. Z’s Tweet JUST Reminded To Finish Reading This. This Is The Truth,
    “It was a commandment,
    I willfully obeyed,
    My only regret was in having delayed”

    LOVE IT x

    • Black Muslimah June 11, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

      MashaAllah shukran sis! As I get older I learn to appreciate hijab more and more! It’s great wisdom in it.

Leave a Reply

