Me and my Hijab

8 Jun

I began covering a year after I converted. I wore jeans and a hijab. And then abaya and hijab. And then jilbab. And on and off niqab. I loved it. A lot. I stopped about 2 years later mainly because of family issues (unbelievably long story). I didn’t start again because of many things.

I was unsure about the necessary areas to cover (I disagree with the norm but God knows best don’t follow me, do research). I was uncomfortable about the baby weight I had gained+jilbab and looking like a tent (God forgive my vanity) and most importantly, I realised that because I no longer had my outward symbol of God consciousness (I know this is not all a hijab is I’m just speaking in this context) I began to focus on my inward God consciousness.

I began to speak with less attitude, talk less, swear less, remain calm more. It sounds like many things but it isn’t. They are small largely insignificant changes only noticed by those in my constant company but they are an improvement. I am still far from being a good human being. But I am acknowledging my faults and trying my best to tackle them, may God make it easy for us all to do this. I have recently come to the decision that covering is the best option for me. And so I am tackling the issues surrounding me and my hijab. And God willing, I will cover again.

God willing my story will be of help to someone and someone’s story will be of help to me.

~ Khalida Bint John

Read more about Khalida here

3 Responses to “Me and my Hijab”

  1. Vivian June 11, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    Allah bless you and your family and help you :)) you have inspired me with your story little sister. i wish you all the best things in life :))

  2. Black Muslimah June 11, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    ASA May Allah bless you and make your journey back towards hijab a easy one 🙂 Thanks for sharing your story!

  3. khalidabintjohn June 17, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Jazakallahu khayr sisters 🙂 I hope so too 🙂

Leave a Reply

