I call my Hijab a blessing

18 Jun

Asalaamalaikum (Peace be upon you)

When a sister asked me to blog about my experiences with hijab, my immediate reaction was ‘what am I going to write about? I don’t have an amazing life changing story that people love to read about’. I have been following Islamic blogs and hijab stories and websites for a few years now and I absolutely love them. They are refreshing, pure, honest and inspirational. I then thought, these stories are amazing SubhanAllah (Glory be to God), but not everyone has an amazing story. Some sisters struggle so I’m going to be very honest in my experience.

I grew up in an Asian community. The ‘scarf’ was always around yet not ‘hijab’. The semi head covering cloth and to pick and choose when you wore it and how you wore it was somehow normal.  When I started researching Islam a few years ago I stumbled across how important it is to wear the hijab and cover up not because Allah(Swt) wants to make our lives a misery, but to stop our lives becoming miserable.

I was in a job that I hated. I was not allowed to be myself or a good muslimah. I was surrounded by non-muslims and was trying to fit in with them, slowly abandoning my deen Astagfiruallah (I repent to Allah). I used to make dua (prayer) to Allah(swt) to get me out of the hellhole that I was in. I could not be myself in that place. Yes it was a good career but what could I do with a haraam (not permissible) job when it could do nothing for me in the after-life. My biggest dua to Allah(swt) was to get me out of that haraam job.

Allahamdulillah my dua got accepted. A friend lent me a book. It was about Islam andPakistan. There was something in that book which made me want to research Islam. In researching Islam, I came across the importance of Hijab. It made me realise that no amount of make up or posh pretty clothes could give me the benefits and rewards of hijab. It is beautiful and a protection for me. Allah(Swt) gave me this protection so why was I throwing it away? If someone offered you a free car to make your travels easy, you would not refuse it so why am I refusing this method of an easier life?

To this day, I thank Allah(swt) for what he blessed me with. I searched the internet for hijab stories and reasons to wear it and then one day decided that this was IT. This would be the moment when I would wear my hijab and my identity as a Muslim proudly.

I have to admit I was genuinely scared of what my work colleagues would say so I went onto a forum and asked for support and SubhanAllah everyone was so supportive. I was dreading the day I walked into work and everyone gasped or asked me awkward questions like “Why are you wearing that?” I knew what my colleagues were like, I was the only Muslim there so I was scared stiff. Allahamdulillah, Allah made this first day very easy for me. I just kept making dua and praying to Allah(swt) to help me that day. Allahamdulillah, it could not have gone better. My colleagues were shocked BUT they didn’t make me feel uncomfortable. They just made a joke about my ears being cold (lol).  SubhanAllah.

I have since left that job though and found a new job. Going into this job wearing hijab has been amazing. I have made a lot of friends, muslims and non-muslims. They do ask me why I wear the hijab but not in a nasty manner and they appreciate what I have to say. They don’t treat me any differently to anyone else. Allahamdulillah I have been blessed.

I can walk out of my house without worrying about my hair. I can wear what I want and I can even walk out without wearing make-up. My hijab has become my best friend and best accessory. It makes me feel so confident and I genuinely believe it intimidates some people so they don’t dare talk rubbish to me! This is Allah(swt)’s protection for me. It has given me the strength to do things the way I want to.

I don’t believe wearing hijab is any kind of oppression. How can it be? How can being able to speak my mind and express my beliefs and thoughts be oppressive? Oppression is when you’re forced to do something and act in a certain way. Allah(swt) has given me my own brain underneath that hijab to think for myself with his guidance.

Following the latest fashion, spending thousands and thousands on the latest handbags, shoes, outfits and make-up is oppression. Either you dress a particular way and have the most expensive handbag or you’re looked down upon. How does that not scream oppression? If you wear clothes from a cheap store, you’re laughed at. If you wear expensive clothing, you have to keep up appearances despite getting yourself in debt.

When I walk out with my hijab on, I feel like I have the protection of Allah(swt) on my head and around me like a cage. I should be thankful for this every second of my life.

Sisters, I know it is not easy. I have been through the rough times thinking that everyone is going to mock me and bully me for wearing the hijab but Allah(swt) truly made this journey easier for me because at the end of the day, you have nothing but Allah(swt) and your soul to look after.

I used to worry so much about what other people would think of me and what they would say about me. I have learnt though that people will love you when they want to and will leave you when they want to. Allah(swt) will never leave you if you truly love him so why would we choose fickle relationships over Allah(swt)? Since wearing hijab, I have been blessed with truly amazing people in my life. I have met sisters who have been so supportive and encouraging it is amazing.

“O Prophet! Tell your wives and your daughters and the women of the believers to draw their cloaks (veils) all over their bodies (i.e. screen themselves completely except the eyes or one eye to see the way). That will be better, that they should be known (as free respectable women) so as not to be annoyed. And Allaah is Ever Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful”

[al-Ahzaab 33:59]

May Allah(swt) have mercy on us all and protect us from the Devil and sins.

WalayakumAsalaam

P.s Sometimes I feel like screaming from the rooftops “Yes I am a hijabi and proud and what are you going to do about it?”

Feel free to contact me.

~Jaminah

Read more about Jaminah here

3 Responses to “I call my Hijab a blessing”

  1. Cris January 31, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

    SubhanAllah your story is inspirational .. I too want to wear my hijab and fear my colleagues .. Mostly because they will think I’m doing it for the wrong reasons .. I was born Christian but converted to Islam because it spoke volumes to me .. I happen to live in Abu Dhabi at the moment and I fear they’ll think I’m just following blindly .. I have been married for 6 years to a wonderful Muslim man who has never put any pressure on me but I fear my work mates will think I’m either being forced or I’m taking it as a fad ,… I pray to Allah swt and hope ill get the courage to do what you did very soon … Thank you for your story …

  2. Nuzhat August 29, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    Salam un alaykum sister
    Mashallah your hijab experience you shared with us is very encouraging I just have a question how can we protect our hijab if after marriage our husband wants us to take off our hijab? How to convince him?

    • Me and My Hijab Admin November 18, 2013 at 11:01 pm #

      Asalaamu Alaykum Sis,

      We are not qualified to advise you in situations like this. Please contact someone of knowledge as they will be better equipped to handle your situation Insha’Allah.
      Jazak’Allah Khair for your comment!

Leave a Reply

