Why I Am Muslim

13 Jul

(Originally written for and published on the blog Hijabi Inspiration, Niqabi Aspirations)

Bismillah Ar-rahman Ar-raheem

As-salaamu ‘Alakyum,

I wanted to clarify why I am Muslim, not how I came to Islam. Conversion tales are generally the same. However, ask Muslims why they practice and you’re guaranteed a million answers.

I am Muslim because I believe in worship. Not just on one day, not just in one manner, but in a continual and varying form. I am Muslim because I believe in the oneness of God, so much so, that attributing so much as a son to Him, is blasphemy. I am Muslim because I believe that God is sovereign and that no one can guarantee salvation but Him. I believe that God sends down the good in life and the bad, that he guides and misguides, blesses and smites. I believe that heaven is not something anyone can be guaranteed and there is no price for it. You can pray and fast and be the most moral human being and still not get in if your intentions were not right. God is sovereign.

I am Muslim because I need structure in my life. I like having prescribed business etiquette, mannerisms with the opposite sex, and detailed goals to fulfill. I am Muslim because I value modesty and not just in the sense that premarital sex is wrong but in that, how I walk, talk, dress, think, and act all dictate how much I respect and value myself. I am Muslim because I believe that no person can inherit the sin of another person. I believe that no person is accountable for the actions of another person unless its a parent and a young child. I believe in personal accountability.

I am Muslim because I value cause and effect. I do not believe in turning the other cheek, I believe in facing my issues head-first. I am Muslim because I understand that there are consequences for every action. I am Muslim because I understand that nothing matters more than pleasing your Creator. I am Muslim because I am tired of searching for mypurpose in life. I am Muslim because I like having the answers to life’s questions available to me.

I could go on and on forever about Why I am Muslim. I love my religion and unless you want me to dissect why I am not a Christian, this is where this post ends!

~ Essence Jones (Sahar Yunus)

Read more about Sahar here

Leave a Reply

