I am sure…

21 Jul

(Originally written for and published on the blog Yes I Have a Voice)

Yes, I am sure.

I am sure that our beloved Rasoolillah, peace be upon him, had stones thrown at him until he bled so that now we could stop working to show the true beauty of Islam.

I am sure that the sahabah, may Allah be pleased with them all, were abused beyond our comprehension and fought in battles so that we could now fight each other, abuse each other, and spread enmity within the ummah.

I am sure that the scholars dedicated their lives to creating stringent processes and rules to collate ahadith so that the we can now abandon the sunnah and follow the Quran only!

I am sure that Imam Bukhari and others spent so long grading hadith so that we can now stupidly try to grade them ourselves, calling weak hadith strong and authentic hadith fabricated.

I am sure that the four imams, may Allah be pleased with them, also dedicated their lives to creating schools of thought by which we could easily follow Islam so that we can now make up our own fiqh.

I am sure that they never insulted each other so that now, we can insult them.

I am sure that Prophet Muhammed, peace be upon him, cared for and worked alongside non-Muslins so that we can now hollar “Kaaffir!” at every non-Muslim we see, mock them, and abuse them.

I am sure that he, peace be upon him, taught us the best of manners and etiquettes so that we could now swear and shout at eachother.

I am sure that on the Prophet’s night journey, peace be upon him, he went back and forth, reducing out salaat from 50 a day to five, so that we could now abandon the prayer.

I am sure that the wisdom behind the freeing of Bilal, RA, and the fact that he was the first muadhin, was so that we could now be racist and nationalistic.

I am sure that the reason for brotherhood being one of the many blessings of Islam is so that we can now squabble over our differences, judge eachother, backbite, expose the wrongs of one-another and be divided into sects.

I am sure that the state of ummah is not due to the amount of corruption within us.

Hmmmm, on second thought, I’m not so sure.

One thing I am sure of though, is that on the Day of Judgement, we will regret the way we acted towards eachother. We will regret it, hugely. And by that time, it will be too late to ask forgiveness from one another, or from Allah.

I love you all for the sake of Allah.

~Zaraesque

Read more about Zara here

Leave a Reply

