Ramadhan- My Goals

3 Aug

As-salaamu-alaykum!

So once again that time of year has come round and it feels like we’ve barely blinked since last year. No, not Christmas. Ramadhan! The month of increased supplication, abstention from eating, drinking, physical intimacy and an all round time of spiritual boosting for Muslims all over the world. Ramadhan is considered possibly the most special month of the Islamic calendar as it was during this month that the Qur’an was revealed to the Prophet Muhammad (SAW). And every year, Muslims will fast from dawn until sunset eating before and after each respectively.

This year will be my toughest month yet, simply because of the time of year Ramadhan has fallen. August is a tough month anyway due to heat, but add to this no eating or drinking during daylight hours and it gets a lot more difficult. I turn 19 this month insha’Allah, and I’ve set myself a few goals to help keep my mind focussed on something other than food. This includes completing recitation of the Qur’an at least twice, praying twenty raka’ahs of taraweeh every night, avoiding television, music, films and pointless books as well as spending more time at the masjid and possibly even sitting in Iti’kaaf for the last ten days.

If you knew my usual routine you’d see why this is a tad ambitious but I believe in starting as you mean to go on, so this is the desired goal and we’ll see how far I actually get. Insha’Allah I will be able to complete at least some, if not all of my list, but either way I shall let you know of my progress and see how much I achieve.

Peace.

~Rabiya Ali

Read more about Rabiya here

Leave a Reply

