My hijab. My right.

5 Aug

(Originally written for and published on the blog One Love Hijabi)

Salam 

I thought I’d share my hijab story.  It isn’t as inspirational and interesting as other hijab stories, but for me it’s perfect.
I’m blessed enough to be born a Muslim, and into a practising family.
From childhood I have been taught the difference between right and wrong, good and evil. When the females of our family reach a certain age, they’re expected to cover their hair because the Almighty commands it.  It has always been like this for us, and who was I to question what Allah (swt) commands?
So I began covering my hair on and off from the age of 9 I think, although it was with just a ‘duppatta’ (a sheer piece of fabric). It wasn’t until I began Secondary School that I began covering my hair properly.  I had the honour of attending a girl’s Islamic school and a white opaque Malaysian headscarf was part of the uniform.  Outside of school I felt it necessary to wear my headscarf when I went out as I felt I was representing the school.
This continued throughout my time at school and my college years.  To be honest I never really thought about the hijab and why I wore it.  It had become a habit and I felt awkward if I went out without my hijab. It wasn’t until maybe a year or so ago that someone so close to my heart gently pointed out that though my hair was covered, my neck was still visible and the chest area wasn’t covered properly. These kind words turned my world upside down; I wanted the ground to swallow me.  I had been wearing the hijab for over 10 years and not a single person pointed out that I was wearing it wrong? Why?!
I researched the hijab and its requirements.  From my research I learnt the true meaning behind hijab and its importance in the life of a muslimah (Muslim woman). My love for Islam grew immensely, I had a new-found respect for my hijab. It was no longer just a piece of fabric.  It became a part of me. My identity. My right.
Hijab isn’t just about covering one’s hair.  It’s about how one carries themselves, how one acts.  A muslimah is required to be modest in every aspect of her life, from the way she acts to the way she dresses.  Whilst wearing the hijab, muslimahs are representing Islam.
Now when I wear my hijab, I wear it with pride, I feel complete.

‘O Prophet, tell your wives and your daughters and the women of the believers to bring down over themselves [part] of their outer garments. That is more suitable that they will be known and not be abused. And ever is Allah Forgiving and Merciful. (Surah 33, Verse 59)

I pray the Almighty constantly showers His Mercy and Blessings on the kind soul who guided me on the right path of true hijab.
I am still in the process of learning and gaining knowledge on the hijab and other matters, I am human and I make mistakes.  I do not intentionally mean to offend anyone.

OneLove x

~ Sahabat Shah

Click here to read more about Sabahat

One Response to “My hijab. My right.”

  1. hijab August 9, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    really a nice article…a hijab should not be worn only for fashion..but with a true devotion towards God..

Leave a Reply

