My Sister

7 Sep

My sister cried for me today,

her eyes overflowed with love.

I told her that I felt alone,

with no guidance from above.

My sister looked at me and said,

“Be patient and don’t fear.

Because even when I’m far away,

Your creator is, to you near.”

My sister cried for me today,

her face flooded with woe.

I told her I knew no one else

and I had nowhere to go.

My sister looked at me and said,

“Wallahi, just pray.

Because when you’ve nowhere to go,

Allah will make a way.”

My sister cried for me today,

her hands stretched to the sky.

I looked at her and simply smiled,

and she pondered as to why.

I told her,

“Sister when I come to you,

with woes and shame, and fear,

you hold me close and soothe me,

and lend an open ear.

When I falter or I stumble,

you never cease to say,

“make wudhu and face the East,

and to Allah go pray.”

My sister as you cry for me,

my eyes are filled with joy,

we make a bond of sisterhood,

even shaytan can’t destroy.

~ Essence Jones

Read more about Essence here

Leave a Reply

