Hijab As I See It: Reflection of Hijab Through The Eyes of Man

28 Sep

Assalamualaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

Disclaimer

Before I start I just want to add a quick disclaimer. My knowledge is limited at best, I don’t profess to know everything about Islam, in fact I know very little about very little. I’m not the most Islamic of brothers but Insha’Allah I am working on changing this.

This piece is just my personal opinion. You DO NOT have to agree with it, I’d much rather you had an opinion of your own and not just a bog standard sheep who regurgitates what other people have said. If I make any mistakes or any mis-information please let me know. I do not want to be one of those who spreads incorrect information & confuse people further. But there is a right way and a wrong way to go about this. If you go all Internet Sheik you will be ignored.

I by no means mean to judge, astagfirulah, I know I’ve made mistakes so I apologise in advance if anybody has any issues with this piece. But you’ve got to wonder, if what I mention below offends you, is there a deeper reason or issue within yourself?

Bismillah ir-Rahman ir-Rahim

I begin in the name of Allah, the Most Merciful, the Most Beneficient

So when I was asked to write this piece about what hijab meant to me I got to thinking quite a bit. I broke down what it meant to me into three separate categories:

1)       What does wearing Hijab really mean?

2)       How we as people actually portray this?

3)       The stigma which has recently been assigned to those who wear Hijab.

What does Hijab really mean?

I could dump quote after quote from Qur’an or Hadith here but insha’Allah you should already be reading it yourself. If you don’t (non-Muslims this includes you to) I would suggest you make the intention to do so. Even a small passage each day will insha’Allah (God Willing) allow you to increase your understanding of what Islam is without all the culture mixed in. But the two that make me reflect the most are:

“O you Children of Adam! We have bestowed on you raiment to cover your shame as well as to be an adornment to you. But the raiment of righteousness, that is the best. Such are among the Signs of Allah, that they may receive admonition.” (Quran 7:26)

“And say to the believing women that they should lower their gaze and guard their modesty; that they should not display their beauty and ornaments except what must ordinarily appear thereof; that they should draw their veils over their bosoms and not display their beauty except to their husbands, their fathers, their husbands’ fathers, their sons, their husbands’ sons, their brothers, or their brothers’ sons or their sisters’ sons, or their women or the servants whom their right hands possess, or male servants free of physical needs, or small children who have no sense of the shame of sex, and that they should not strike their feet in order to draw attention to their hidden ornaments. And O you Believers, turn you all together towards Allah, that you may attain Bliss.” (Quran 24:31)

To me, with my limited understanding, a Hijab is more than a piece of cloth to cover oneself. It is protecting one’s modesty from prying eyes, a spiritual state where one understands what is required of them. A person who knows themself and knows their position and an increase in love for Allah SWT (insha’Allah).

Do we portray Hijab how it should be?

As with everything these days there are two sides to every story and two extremes to every opinion. I have seen those who alhamdulilah (all praise due to Allah) wear the Hijab and (from what I’ve seen) observe Islam properly. On the flipside I have also seen those who wear the Hijab who, well I’m not quite sure why they wore it maybe just for show? This also applies to those that I’ve seen who don’t wear the Hijab.

What I mean by this is yes you are covering up by wearing a Hijab but having a huge fluffy one with lots of crazy patterns isn’t really doing much for modesty is it? Also when you people wearing a Hijab but then wearing bright red lipstick or really tight fitting clothes, kind of a contradiction no? It’s not always the woman’s fault I mean us brothers don’t exactly help matters & that is something which definitely needs addressing too and I think it goes a lot further than just lowering your gaze.

I cannot judge because of the small window you tend to see people in they may be brilliant examples of mulisms but this is just what I see & observe. I am in no doubt that wearing Hijab takes effort & commitment and  again I want to stress this is NOT a judgement its merely an observation of what I have & continue to see.

We are an example of Islam, so when people see us acting in certain ways they naturally assume we are all like this. We’ve got to look at the bigger picture.

Issue with Hijab

There is no doubt there has been an increase in negative coverage of Islam in general with a large focus on women who wear the Hijab and the “oppression” (I am not denying some women don’t have a choice but that number is a lot less than it’s made out to be). What sums this up for me is the image below:

You’ve got to ask yourself how many women who wear Hijab are actually oppressed & how many have done so with a conscious decision?

As I said before I don’t know all the information but I am making effort to understand the issue & to further my knowledge in this matter.

Please leave any feedback, critisim or ways for me to further my knowledge (books, authors, blogs).

Peace.

~ Usman

Usman has just completed university and is getting settled into a new job. You can read his blog “The Moderate Extremist”.

4 Responses to “Hijab As I See It: Reflection of Hijab Through The Eyes of Man”

  1. Sarita (@SaritaAgerman) September 28, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    Salaam! I found this really interesting. It’s always useful to question why you’re wearing hijab and if you’re doing it for the right reasons. I wrote an article from the perspective of knowing when/if you’re ready to wear hijab which inshallah you might find useful too http://saritaagerman.blogspot.it/2012/01/mirror-test-knowing-when-youre-ready-to.html Thanks again, have a great day. Sarita

    • Me and My Hijab Admin September 28, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

      Wa alaikum assalaam sis, we are really glad you found it useful. Would you be interested in writing a piece for the blog?

      • Sarita (@SaritaAgerman) June 5, 2013 at 10:02 am #

        asalaamu alaykum. I’ve only just spotted this comment. That’s very kind of you. I might be very late, but what kind of piece did you have in mind?

  2. delicatescarlet April 30, 2016 at 10:58 pm #

    You do have a point but shh! If you point out that we’re told to hide our adornments and not (gasp) incorporate them into hijab to make a fashion statement you’ll be set upon by the Hijab Fashion Police! Joking, but this is really a sensitive issue for Western sisters today. I don’t think hijab should be a ‘fashion’ and I really think that this new fashion hijab style falls under ‘adornments’ and ‘ornaments’- the same we were told to reserve. (I’m eighteen, sisters who read this. Not old and not a man.) I think so many of us are afraid of being too ‘dowdy’ or looking ‘unattractive.’ In the end, Allah knows your heart, and we have to keep our intention for Him.

Leave a Reply

